Requested

A full deep exhale signals verse
Is complete, ready to shake loose
Vowels hanging off my fingers
Like priceless diamond keys

I know what those words are
I’ve faught off agonizing breaths
To pen my own version of those
Requested as I was told why

Lines out of my context, it’s
Disrespectful to repeat them
With my voice, even where they
Sang out, in an opposite far

Away stage, no one could hear
As they did so automatically,
Claiming my tawdry dangles
Not needed to be written, away

Leave a Reply

